FIVE FINGER DEATH PUNCH has pushed back the release date of the digital deluxe edition of “AfterLife”the band’s critically acclaimed ninth studio album, to April 5 from the previously announced February 9 via Better Noise Music. The deluxe version will include the original 12 tracks recorded with the band’s longtime collaborator, producer Kevin Churko (OZZY OSBOURNE) in addition to four bonus tracks: three acoustic versions of the album’s songs “The End”, “Judgment Day” and “Thanks For Asking” plus a brand new song, “This Is The Way”featuring the late rapper DMX. An official music video for “This Is The Way (Featuring DMX)” is directed by none other than highly influential filmmaker Hype Williams, a longtime friend and close collaborator of the late DMX. hailed by The New York Times in 2024 as “The Nineties Wunderkind,” Hype Williams is known for his seminal work with luminaries like Tupac, Wu Tang Clan and Jay Z, among others. The video will be released to coincide with the deluxe edition of “AfterLife” on April 5.

In other news, FIVE FINGER DEATH PUNCH is celebrating three recent platinum certifications for some of the band’s most popular releases: the “Blue On Black” 2019 single featuring Kenny Wayne Shepherd, Brantley Gilbert and Brian May; the “Blue On Black” 2018 single; and the “Got Your Six” 2015 album.

FIVE FINGER DEATH PUNCH guitarist Zoltan Bathory says about “This Is The Way (Featuring DMX)”: “Music is meant to be shared, and it starts at the top with us, the artists. We have always embraced the mixing of genres, whether it be the remake of LL Cool J‘s ‘Mama Said Knock You Out’ featuring Tech N9ne as a guest or our collaboration with blues warrior Kenny Wayne Shepherdcountry star Brantley Gilbertand Brian Maythe legendary guitarist of WHAT INon the song ‘Blue On Black’.

“The idea of ​​collaborating with DMX had been in discussion for years, and it was a long and winding road to turn this particular item on our wish list into reality. He was a lyrical warrior, a true original who spoke his mind incorruptibly. We have always viewed DMX as ‘the metalhead of hip-hop’ because of his aggressive, raw, and untamed style. He grewled and snarled, aiming to rattle some cages — an attitude we share, as FIVE FINGER DEATH PUNCH you have always been drawn to the fearless and the real. It made all the sense in the world, but today this is more than just a song; it’s a salute to a legend, a way to honor DMX‘s memory.”

Upon announcement of the digital deluxe version of “AfterLife” today, FIVE FINGER DEATH PUNCH has premiered an advance listen to the previously unreleased acoustic version of “Judgment Day” which can be streamed below. The band previously partnered with Covenant House in November 2023 and released an official video for “Judgment Day” during National Runaway Prevention Month to help raise awareness about the Youth Homelessness Crisis.

“AfterLife: Deluxe” track listing:

01. Welcome To The Circus
02. AfterLife
03. Times Like These
04. Roll Dem Bones
05. Pick Up Behind You
06. Judgment Day
07. IOU
08. Thanks For Asking
09. Blood And Tar
10. All I Know
eleven. Gold Gutter
12. The End
13. This Is The Way (feat. DMX)
14. Judgment Day (acoustic)
fifteen. The End (acoustic)
16. Thanks For Asking (acoustic)

As previously reported, FIVE FINGER DEATH PUNCH will embark on a full European tour of headline dates as well as festival appearances this summer. The tour also coincides with the European portion of METALLICA‘s “M72” tour on which FIVE FINGER DEATH PUNCH continues to tour stadiums around the world as special guest.

FIVE FINGER DEATH PUNCH celebrated the 10th anniversary of “The Wrong Side Of Heaven And The Righteous Side Of Hell, Volume 1 & Volume 2” by releasing a limited-edition vinyl 6LP box set, as well as a digital version of the box set, on December 1, 2023.

“AfterLife” es FIVE FINGER DEATH PUNCH‘s first album with its latest addition, renowned British virtuoso Andy Jameswho replaced Jason Hook in 2020. James was previously featured on “Broken World”a song that was included on the second installment of FIVE FINGER DEATH PUNCH‘s greatest-hits collection, “A Decade Of Destruction – Volume 2”which came out in the fall of 2020.

FIVE FINGER DEATH PUNCH played its first show as the support act for METALLICA on the “M72” tour on August 6, 2023 at MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford, New Jersey.

FIVE FINGER DEATH PUNCH was originally supposed to support METALLICA on several European shows last spring but ended up canceling the dates in order to allow singer Ivan Moody to fully recover from a hernia surgery.

Photo credit: Hristo Shindov


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *